Payne goal guides WU17s to EURO Finals

The Republic of Ireland Women’s Under 17s qualified for this summer’s UEFA Women’s Under 17 European Championships following a 1-0 win over Hungary.Payne

The narrow victory saw Dave Bell’s side end their three Elite Round games unbeaten with seven points and top of Group 4 – having previously beaten hosts Serbia and drawn with Scotland.A single goal from Heather Payne on 13 minutes proved to be enough for Ireland to claim the win that they needed, but they were the more dominant of the two sides and that was a common trend throughout their qualifying campaign.Sometimes it takes a moment of magic to deliver a desired result and that is exactly what happened when Peamount United ace Payne used her wand of a foot to fire in a free-kick from distance. There was no looking back after that.Republic of Ireland: Turner; Grier, Ruddy, Doyle; Fahey (Spillane 53), McGovern, Toland, Mackey; Payne, McManus, McEvoy.Hungary: Terestyenyi; Csolti, Fordos, Kovacs, Nagy; Pulins, Vachter (Dorner 73), Tolnai (Kovacs 52); Pintye, Nagy (Pusztai 51), Czeller.Referee: Vera Opeykina (Russia).

Bell selects WU17s squad for Elite Round (6 Peas on board)

​​​​​With a place at this summer’s UEFA Women’s Under 17 European Championships at stake, Dave Bell has selected a strong Republic of Ireland squad for their three Elite Round games.Republic of Ireland WU17 SquadGoalkeepers: Rachael Kelly (Shelbourne Ladies), Erica Turner (UCD Waves) Defenders: Sadhbh Doyle (Galway WFC), Tiegan Ruddy (Shelbourne Ladies), Chloe Singleton (Peamount United), Roisin McGovern (Enniskerry), Bethany Carroll (Kilkenny United WFC), Lauryn Grier (Kentstown Rovers) Midfielders: Heather Payne, Aisling Spillane, Gillian Keenan, Doireann Fahy (Peamount United), Megan Mackey (Chelsea Ladies), Tyler Toland (Maiden City) Forwards: Carla McManus (Peamount United), Alannah McEvoy, Isibeal Atkinson (Enniskerry), Eabha O’Mahony (Lakewood)

2016 WNL awards nominations announced

The awards ceremony for the season will take place on Thursday, January 12th at the Guinness Storehouse at 12.30pm.Galway’s Sadhbh Doyle and Peamount’s Roma McLaughlin are up against Kiernan for the Young Player of the Year award whilst Peamount striker Amber Barrett will be presented with the Irish Daily Mail Golden Boot award after scoring 16 goals during the 2016 campaign.The 2016 Team of the Year features five Shelbourne Ladies players as well as three UCD Waves players, Roma McLaughlin and Amber Barrett from Peamount United and Chloe Moloney from Galway WFC.

2 Peamount ladies in the Women’s National Team for weekend friendly

The WNT face the Basque Country in an international friendly at the Tallaght Stadium on Saturday, November 26th, with kick-off at 3.30pm.It is set to be Ronan’s final game in charge of the Women’s National Team as she steps down after the game to fully focus on her role as Head of Women’s Football at the Football Association of Ireland.The squad includes 13 home-based players from the Women’s National League and it also sees the return of Stephanie Roche who missed the Portugal camp through illness. Republic of Ireland Women’s National Team squad v Basque CountryGoalkeepers: Emma Byrne (Arsenal Ladies), Naoisha McAloon, (Peamount United) Amanda McQuillan (Shelbourne Ladies)Defenders: Niamh Fahey (Chelsea WFC), Louise Quinn (Eskilstuna United), Savannah McCarthy (Glasgow City), Karen Duggan (UCD Waves), Jetta Berrill (UCD Waves), Jess Gleeson (Wexford Youths), Niamh Prior (UCD Waves).Midfielders: Diane Caldwell (SC Sand), Meabh De Barca (Galway WFC), Roma McLaughlin (Peamount United), Noelle Murray (Shelbourne Ladies), Alex Kavanagh (Shelbourne Ladies), Julie Ann Russell (UCD Waves), Denise O’Sullivan (Houston Dash).Forwards: Stephanie Roche (Sunderland Ladies), Leanne Kiernan (Shelbourne Ladies), Aine O’Gorman (UCD Waves)